Be Yourself Café + Travel Preparations

Hello friends!

I can’t believe that it’s already November, which means it’s practically Christmas. Am I right? Or am I right?

Anyway, today was a pretty chill day. Spent the morning watching Netflix, aka my newest best friend, and then made my way to one of my French classes. It is the only class I have this week, so I felt very productive after attending one class. Not wanting to return to my room and be engulfed in Netflix, I decided to head to one of my favorite cafés here in Lille to be productive. I have been wanting to catch up writing in my journal, but I’ve been super lazy and unmotivated lately. So today was the day. I actually got a lot done, go me!

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

While, I would love to say that I caught up in documenting all of my experiences and travels while being here, I only made it up to recapping my first month abroad. Needless to say, I have a lot of work to do.

However, I did manage to plan for my next upcoming trip! I booked bus trips to and from the airport. All of that planning and coordinating gave me a headache. There were buses that cost €20-40 just for me to get to the airport. Um, no thanks. Lille to Paris should not cost that much. After some digging, I was able to secure bus tickets for €9 each way. Not too shabby. The only downside is that there is only one bus leaving the day I need to fly out.. and it is super early in the day. My flight is at night, so I will be sitting around in the airport for at least 5-6 hours tomorrow. Yay!

Anyway, traveling is hard. I still don’t know how exactly I will be getting from the airport to my Airbnb.. shall be interesting. But hey, I always manage to figure it out somehow.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Ok, so besides rambling on and on about the stresses of traveling, I wanted to chat with you all about one of my favorite cafés here in Lille. Before arriving in Lille, I had absolutely no clue what was around me. No one ever gave me a list of cool places to try or any advice on how the schooling even works here (it’s awful by the way). So I hope that this blog can help future students planning on studying in Lille OR give some tips/recommendations to those of you who find yourselves in the beautiful city of Lille.

Processed with VSCO with f2 presetWith that said, here is my favorite study spot. The decorations are stylish yet cute and cozy.

IMG_5610.JPGThere are plenty of tables for studying. The tables along the window have outlets as well, however, it’s really unenjoyable sitting there in the middle of the day when the sun is out. It gets super hot and the light is somewhat blinding. So definitely sit there at night.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

I also like how there almost always somewhere to sit. There are two floors of seating plus outdoor seating, so I’ve never had trouble finding a nice place to sit.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

So, if you are looking for a nice place to catch up with friends, enjoy some nice coffee, and/or study, this may be the place for you!

◊ Be Yourself Café Information ◊

Location: 2 Square Morisson, 59800 Lille

Specialties: salad bar, bagels, bagel sandwiches, sweet & savory pancakes, eggs & bacon, smoothies (more like juice than smoothie-like to me), coffee, pastries/desserts.

What I recommend trying: coffee (obviously. they also put a chocolate covered marshmallow like thing on a stick and then put it in your cup. If you look at the first photo in this post, you can see it), soup (great if you are on a budget like me!), bagel sandwiches (super filling and not awfully priced). I have yet to try their breakfast food, but I read reviews from other people saying that it’s good. I, however, have very high standards when it comes to pancakes.. so I am a little skeptical.

Reservations: You can make them if you have a large group of people.. but I wouldn’t bother. There are so many tables to choose from here.

Wifi: Free! And it’s super fast!

Dietary Options: Vegetarian, Gluten-Free, Vegan, and Halal

Payments Accepted: Cash (Euros), Visa, Master Card, Discovery (not common in this area), and Check

Peak Hours: Lunch time. It gets pretty busy then, so studying may be a little more distracting at this time. I prefer going in the late-afternoon to evening.

Website: click here

*disclaimer: I was in no mean sponsored or even asked to write this post. Opinions are purely my own.

Your turn:

I love discovering local cafes, sooo I want to learn about some of your favorites!

What’s your favorite local café?

What recommendation would you make for a visitor?

Leave a Reply

