Halloween Festivities Abroad

Hi friends!!

Hope you all had a fun time this Halloween! I saw a lot of Snapchat stories from this past weekend back in California and missed home a little bit. Halloween has always been a very exciting holiday for me. I love the chilled weather, autumn leaves, Disney classics (Halloween Town High and such), pumpkin everything, free chocolate, and children excitedly running from door to door. I still remember the excitement after trick-or-treating as my siblings and I sat on the floor with a massive mound of candies. I would always trade my Reece’s Peanut Butter Cups for Almond Joys or Crunch bars. Good times.

430046_10150626709510874_1110087723_n

I also remember the times where my mom would make me wear sweatshirts under my costumes and it drove me crazy. I also remember being annoyed with the number of photos my mom insisted on taking of us in our costumes. Today, I am so thankful she made us take those photos. Now, I am the one bothering everyone!

55218_1215723009453_2028069_oMy mom also did a great job at drawing moles and crazy eyebrows onto our faces. It’s safe to say, we have always been really into Halloween in my Family.

14853003_10202461447533715_1801755053239874994_o

Even our dogs celebrate Halloween with us, haha.

Anyway, so I think you all get the picture. I really like Halloween. With that said, I knew I had to bring some Halloween spirit here to France. My friend Nadine, from Germany, had never actually celebrated Halloween and was so excited to celebrate it here this year.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

With that said, we decided to do a little bit of celebrating (partying I suppose..) last Thursday night as well as having family styled movie nights with Halloween themed food. This year, I dressed up a mouse for the sole purpose of not wanting to buy anything I wasn’t going to use again. One of my friends had some mouse ears she wasn’t going to use, so I decided I would be a mouse.

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetLast night we decided to stay in and have a girls night. A few weeks ago, I found a recipe by Delish.com and knew that I just had to try making it. Elizabeth, Aytaj, and Nadine were all game.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 presetAnd to my surprise, they were super easy to make!

Processed with VSCO with hb1 presetNot to mention, they were absolutely adorable.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 presetWe also got very into taking photos of them.

After making the peppers, we all watched Hocus Pocus while eating some pumpkin bread I baked. It was so fun having them try pumpkin bread for the first time and watching their expressions while watching Hocus Pocus.

So there you have it! I was sad to miss celebrating Halloween back in the States, but I loved sharing this holiday with my friends from Germany and Azerbaijan.

~ I hope all of you had a wonderful Halloween!

 

 

8 thoughts on “Halloween Festivities Abroad

  1. Ok, those peppers are toooooo cute!!! What a brilliant idea. And Hocus Pocus is amazing- I still haven’t watched it yet this year, but never too late right?! What did they think of it? Hope you are having a great week, Brittany!

    Like

    1. Haha! I actually haven’t watched it for quite a few years until this past Halloween. The girls seemed to like it though! I also showed them Halloween Town the week before and I think they liked that movie more than Hocus Pocus to be honest. The witches in Hocus Pocus were probably more difficult for them to understand due to their heavy East Coast (? maybe?) accents. Regardless, they still were super excited about the movie 🙂 Hope your week is going well too!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ohhhhh Halloween Town is a great one too. That’s hilarious about the accents, it just may be that! How long have you been there?! What an experience!

        Like

Leave a Reply

